The Book of Ivy / The Revolution of Ivy

Sum up

In a future where girls no longer control their own fates, sixteen-year-old Ivy Westfall has the power to give girls back their choices. If she’s willing to commit murder to do it. After a brutal nuclear war, followed by famine and disease, the United States was left decimated. A small group of survivors eventually banded together, but only after more conflict over who would govern the new nation. Fifty years later, peace and control are maintained by marrying the daughters of the losing side to the sons of the winning group in a yearly ritual. This year, it is Ivy Westfall’s turn to be married. Only her bridegroom is no average boy. He is Bishop Lattimer, the president’s son.

And Ivy’s mission is not simply to marry him. Her mission, one she’s been preparing for all her life, is to kill him and restore the Westfall family to power. But Bishop Lattimer turns out not to be the cruel, heartless boy her family warned her to expect. And as Bishop and Ivy navigate a tentative friendship that evolves into something more, Ivy is torn between loyalty to her family and following her own heart. She is a teenage girl caught in an adult web of manipulation, lies, and the struggle for power. Ultimately, she must decide what sacrifices are worth making for the lives of those she loves.

ANALYSE

So, my first analyze is on this serie. Why ? Because it’s the first serie I litteralement loved and read in three days ! I love Ivy’s character. She’s the strong, independant women we women all want. She has one goal and during most of the book, I clearly though she was going to go all the way with  it. I also really enjoyed how Amy Engel write. She has this beautiful way to describe everything around the character and also the characters’s feelings. The development of Ivy during the first book is incredible. She’s this strong woman and end up being lost and destroyed.

At the end of the book, I was almost crying because of how much I loved it. I was Ivy at the end. This is a really powerful feeling, to think that we became the character or somehow, the character’s best friend. Her relation to Bishop was also beautiful. I knew how it was going to end between them, but him protectim her at all cost was just so emotional…. I want a Bishop in my life guys !

The second book was a disappointment to me. I loved the first book so much, when I read the second one I was lost. Because it wasn’t centered on Ivy and Bishop ? More like… I lost Ivy on that one. She became totally different. I guess she had to, but it was way to harsh for me to actually understand it. This is such a shame, because of how much I loved her… I didn’t like her in that second book. She was too depend on people and she just made stupid choices. She wasn’t at all like the first Ivy. So really, when I read it I was confused. I though it was a third book or something, that I missed a huge part, but no. I loved seing her in the camp and making new friend and allies, really. I did enjoyed learning everything that was outside the town. But really, Ivy’s mental growth was sloppy, in my point of view.

But, learning everything about the camp, the traditions, the way the survivor actually lived, that was great. Seeing her learning to love Bishop again, and him trying to find her, that was great. The hunting parties and her relationship with that disguting guy… It was interesting to see her kill for food or survival and everything. And Amy’s writing skills are still perfect, so I enjoyed reading the book as well, just a bit less than the first one. But the way she described her world was on point ^^

 

What did you guys think about it ? Did you liked it ? Did you read it ?

Laisser un commentaire

